Malta Travel Guide

The independent State of Malta, a Republic within the British Commonwealth consisting of the main island of Malta(area 95sq.mi/246 sq. km), the adjoining islands of Gozo (26 sq. miles/67 sq. km) and Comino (1 sq. mile/2-6 sq. km) and the uninhabited rocky islets of Cominotto, Filfla and Selmunett, lies in the Central Mediterranean at the E end of the Sicilian Channel, 60 miles/93 km from the southern tip of Sicily and 180 miles/288 km from the Tunisian coast to the W. The islands extend from NW to SE for a distance of some 27 miles/44 km, rising to a maximum height of 830 ft/253 m. The Maltese Islands are the last remains of a land bridge which during the Late Tertiary era and the Glacial periods of the Pleistocene linked Sicily with North Africa and divided the Mediterranean into two.

Attractions in Popular Destinations

More Destinations and Attractions

Malta Maps

St Pauls Bay St Pauls Bay Map (Historical)
Maltese Islands Maltese Islands Map (Historical)
Mnajdra Mnajdra Map (Historical)