Zutphen Tourist Attractions
Zutphen (from Zuid Veen, "South Fen"), situated at the confluence of the Berkel with the IJssel and at the west end of the Twente Canal, was once capital of the County of Zutphen, which from 1127 belonged to Gelderland. The town received its municipal charter in 1190 and became a member of the Hanseatic League towards the end of the 14th century. It was taken by the Spaniards in 1572 but recovered by Prince Maurice of Nassau 19 years later.The battle of Zutphen (1586), in which Sir Philip Sidney was killed, was fought at Warnsveld, just to the east of the town.Zutphen is now the cultural and administrative center of the Veluwe and Achterhoek. Its major industries are engineering, brick making, chemicals and woodworking, together with papermaking and textiles.Of interest in Zutphen are the Thursday and Sunday markets, historic buildings, museums, and pleasant scenery, particularly along the promenade on the river IJssel.
In the Groenmarkt, Zutphen's elongated main square, are a number of old gabled houses.
Grote Kerk or St Walburgskerk
South of the Groenmarkt is the Gravenhof, with the Grote Kerk or St Walburgskerk (Reformed), which dates from the 12th century.
At the east end of the Groenmarkt stands the Wijnhuistoren (House Tower), rebuilt in 17th century style after a fire in 1920, with a carillon of 1925.
To the north of the Groenmarkt, at Rozengracht 3, is the Broederenklooster, a 14th century Dominican house now occupied by the Municipal Museum (Stedelijk Museum).
Grote Kerk (St Walburgskerk)
Notable features of the interior are the wall and ceiling paintings of the 15th and 16th centuries, a fine bronze font of 1527 and a 15th century chandelier in the choir.
Chapterhouse of Grote Kerk or St Zutphen
The chapterhouse (1561-63; curious carved capitals) contains the original chained library, with 400 manuscripts and incunabula, some of them of great value, still fastened to the reading desks.
On the north side of the Grote Kerk stands the Town Hall (Stadhuis; 18th C., restored 1956). Behind it is the Gothic Burgerzaal (Burghers' Hall; 15th C.), originally the meat market and later the butter market.
To the north of the Grote Kerk is the Drogenapstoren (1444-46), a handsome old town gate.
Immediately adjoining the Drogenapstoren is the Zaadmarkt (Seedmarket), with a number of handsome brick-built houses of the 16th and 17th centuries.
Two relics of Zutphen's fortifications are the Berkelpoort (1312), a picturesque water gate, and the Nieuwstadspoort (1536).
In the IJssel valley 10km/6mi south of Zutphen lies Bronkhorst, a picturesque village of old houses and narrow streets. Granted a municipal charter in 1482, it is the smallest town in the Netherlands, having failed to grow beyond its original size. Features of interest are the church (1460), the Hooghe Huys, a 17th century farmstead with a tall farmhouse, a museum dedicated to Charles Dickens, and the town pump. There are a number of local craftsmen still practicing their crafts in the traditional way. The castle of the lords of Bronkhorst stood from 1000 to 1153 on a nearby hill.
De Wiersse is a country house surrounded by a moat and rich woodlands. Rhododendrons, roses and intimate inner gardens all can be found amongst the trees here.
Address: Wiersserallee 9, Vorden, Gelderland 7251 LH, Netherlands
More on PlanetWare