Wangen im Allgau Tourist Attractions
Situation and characteristicsThe former free imperial city of Wangen, on the Obere Argen, is the chief town of the Württemberg Allgäu and the center of its dairy and cheese-making industry, with a dairy research and teaching institute. The whole of the old town, which has been preserved almost intact, was designated in 1976 as a protected national monument.
In the Marktplatz of Wangen im Allgäu stands the Town Hall, originally built in the 13th C.; it preserves some 15th C. work, but was largely rebuilt in Baroque style in 1719-21; to the left is a gate-tower known as the Ratloch. To the right of the Town Hall is the Late Gothic parish church of St Martin (13th C.; interior remodelled in Baroque style in 1684), with a 19th C. altarpiece and ceiling paintings.South of the Marktplatz is the Saumarkt, with St Anthony's Fountain (St Anthony surrounded by pigs).
From the Marktplatz in Wangen im Allgäu, Herrenstrasse (houses with painted facades) leads north to the Ravensburg Gate (1608; originally 13th C.), with a clock and sundial.
Martinstor (Old Cemetery)
From the south corner of the Marktplatz in Wangen im Allgäu the charming Paradiesstrasse runs west to the painted Martinstor (St Martin's Gate) or Lindau Gate (1608; originally 14th C.). Beyond the gate lies the Italian-style Old Cemetery (now a municipal park), with St Roch's Chapel (painted wooden ceiling).
From the Marktplatz, through the Ratloch, a street runs east to the picturesque Postplatz (Kornhausplatz, Kornmarkt), the main square of the lower town, with the Kornhaus (1595). From here Spitalstrasse leads northeast to the Altes Spital (Old Hospital), with the Spitalkirche (1719-32), and the Eselsmühle (Heimat- and Cheese-Making Museum).
Near the Heimatmuseum in Wangen im Allgäu are the Silesian Archives, with the Eichendorff Museum, a museum devoted to the novelist Gustav Freytag and the archives of the Silesian writer Hermann Stehr (1864-1940).On the northeast and east sides of the old town, along the river Argen, extends a stretch of the old town walls, with the 15th C. Pulverturm (Powder Tower).
St Wolfgang's Cemetery
One km/.75mile southwest of Wangen im Allgäu, on the Gehrenberg (582m/1910ft), is the large and attractively laid out St Wolfgang's Cemetery (New Cemetery), with St Wolfgang's Chapel (choir 15th C., nave 17th C.); magnificent views. The cemetery lies on the 16km/10mile long ring road round the town, from which there are extensive views.
Some 23km/14mi northeast of Wangen is the former free imperial city of Leutkirch, on the Upper Swabian Baroque Highway, which preserves remains of its old town walls. In the Marktplatz stands the Town Hall (1741). To the rear is the Bock (Heimatmuseum), with the Bockturm or Blaserturm.
Leutkirch in the Allgäu - Old Fortifications
The little town of Leutkirch in the Allgäu, once a free imperial city, has preserved some remains of its old fortifications. In the Marktplatz is the Town Hall (1741).At Rot an der Rot the eastern route rejoins the main route.
19km/12mi east of Wangen (18km/11mi south of Leutkirch) is Isny, which was also a free imperial city. Notable features are the slender Blaserturm in the Markt, the 17th century Town Hall in Wassertorstrasse and the Romanesque church of St Nicholas (1288). Higher up are St George's Church (1635-71; fine Roccoco interior) and a 17th C. Benedictine monastery.The streets are dominated by the thin church tower.
11km/7mi southeast of Wangen, on the Deutsche Alpenstrasse, is the town of Lindenberg. To the west of the parish church (1764) can be found the Hat Museum.