Killaloe Tourist Attractions
The little town of Killaloe (Cill Dalua, "Dalua's Church") lies inland in southwestern Ireland, at the point where the Shannon emerges from Lough Derg and makes its way between the Arra Mountains and Slieve Bernagh into the Limerick Plain.A 13-arched bridge carries the R498 over the Shannon to Ballina (Tipperary county) and on to Limerick. Killaloe is a good center for water sports, including water skiing and trips in cabin cruisers.
St Flannan Cathedral
In Killaloe, St Flannan's Cathedral, built in 1185, occupies the site of an earlier church and incorporates its Romanesque doorway. Beside it is an interesting stone, one of the few in Ireland to bear an inscription in Viking runes and one in ogham with the same meaning: "A blessing on Thorgrim, who made this stone." Also within the precincts of the Cathedral is St Flannan's Oratory (12th century: National Monument), a small Romanesque church with a beautiful doorway and a well-preserved stone roof.
St Molua's Oratory
Near the Roman Catholic parish church of Killaloe is St Molua's Oratory (11th C.?; National Monument), with a nave and a stone-roofed chancel. This little church was re-erected here in 1929 after being removed from an island in the Shannon which was due to be submerged under a hydroelectric scheme.
Killaloe Heritage Centre
The theme of Celtic Ireland is brought to life at the Killaloe Heritage Centre. The birth place of Brian Boru (940-1014), the greatest High King of Ireland, is just a few miles from the Village. Visitors can trace the history of the arrival of Christianity and the monastic tradition, as well as the development of the Shannon River.
The surroundings of Killaloe have many interesting sights.
To the north of the town of Killaloe extends Lough Derg, a long straggling lough with the boundary between Clare county and Tipperary county running along the middle. A beautiful road, the R463, flanks the west side of the lough, passing the large fort of Beal Boru, from which King Brian Boru took his title, and continuing to Tuamgraney.
A beautiful road, the R463, flanks the west side of Lough Derg, passing the large fort of Beal Boru, from which King Brian Boru took his title, and continuing to Tuamgraney, which has an 11th century-12th C. church, the oldest in Ireland which is still used.The East Clare Heritage Centre, (opening times given), provides information about the region and organizes excursions to Holy Islands offshore.
The quickest way to reach Holy Island, also known as Inishcealtra, is from the Mountshannon Angler Centre (boats at the landing stage). In the seventh century St Caimin founded a monastery on the island, which was still being visited by pilgrims and penitents at the end of the 17th C. It is now a peaceful and charming little spot, with five churches, an 80ft/24m high round tower, a hermit's cell and a churchyard with numerous crosses and inscribed stones (all National Monuments).
After branching off to Tulla, the R468 runs north to Feakle, continuing into the beautiful valley of Lough Graney, which is famous for its pike.