Large Festival Theatre
The New or Large House (Neues or Grosses Festspielhaus) of the Salzburg Festival District in Hofstallgasse was built by Holzmeister in 1956-60, with a massive stage 40m/130ft high cutting deep into the Mönchsberg (its construction involved the removal of more than 55,000 cu. m./72,000 cu.yd of rock). This house, famed for its excellent acoustics, has seating for an audience of 2,170. Five bronze gates, with handles designed by Toni Schneider-Manzell, provide public access from Hofstallgasse. In the entrance hall stand two fountains with figures representing "Music" and "Theater"; in the lower foyer is a steel relief by Rudolf Hoflehner, "Homage to Anton von Webern", and in the foyer outside the first-floor boxes hangs a tapestry designed by Oskar Kokoschka, "Amor and Psyche". There are busts of Richard Strauss, Karl Böhm, Max Reinhardt and Alexander Moissi, who conducted the first performance of Hofmannsthal's "Jedermann" ("Everyman") at the Salzburg Festival. The foyers of the boxes at the side of the circle are decorated with large paintings by Wolfgang Hutter ("From Night to Day") and Karl Plattner ("Salzburg, its Architects and its Music"). At Festival time mainly operas are performed in the Large House. At other times of the year concerts are put on in Mozart Week, as well as the Easter Festivals and other events.
House for Mozart (formerly the Small Festival Theater)
The Old or Small House (Altes or Kleines Festspielhaus) of Salzburg's Festival District, facing on to Max-Reinhardt-Platz, was constructed in 1924-25 by the conversion of the former large Winter Riding School. and was further altered in 1926 by Clemens Holzmeister and the frescos by Anton Faistauer added in the Foyer. In 1937-38 Holzmeister carried out a further drastic rebuilding in which the auditorium was turned 180 degrees and enlarged to a total of 1682 seats. Finally the interior was remodeled once again in 1963 (1,304 seats). The overall length of the Small House is some 160m/525ft, and its entrance is marked by a canopy supported on four stone pillars, with a mask group in marble by the sculpture Jakob Adlhart. Adjoining the auditorium is the Orpheus Foyer with a sculpture by Alfred Hrdlicka. The walls of the auditorium are wood-paneled, with a tapestry in the entrance designed by Oskar Kokoschka; the promenade area contains busts of the poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal and the conductors Bruno Walter, Clemens Krauss and Wilhelm Furtwängler.To celebrate the 250th anniversary of Mozart the venue was reopened with the name Haus fur Mozart / House for Mozart.
The famous Salzburg Festival was founded in 1920 by Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Max Reinhardt, Richard Strauss and others, and inaugurated with a performance of Hofmannsthal's "Jedermann" ("Everyman") in the Domplatz. Held annually in late July and August, the festival mounts productions of the highest artistic standard with artists of international reputation and attracts large audiences from all over the world.This annual five week festival includes operas, orchestral, choral and chamber concerts, recitals, dance performances and theatrical productions. An art exhibition is also staged as part of the festival. The events take place in the large and small festival theaters, the Felsenreitschule, the Cathedral, University Church, Landestheater, Mozarteum and St Peter's Church.
Rocky Riding School
The Salzburg Felsenreitschule or Sommerreitschule (Rocky Riding School, Summer Riding School) dates back to 1693 (extended in 1968-69); three galleries for spectators have been hewn from the rock. Originally used for riding tournaments and other equestrian events, theatrical and operatic performances are now presented on a stage in the courtyard.
Map of Salzburg Attractions
More on PlanetWare