Elburg Tourist Attractions
The old Hanseatic town of Elburg, in northern Gelderland, received its municipal charter in 1396. To escape the threat of flooding the site of the town was continually moved farther inland. The old part of Elburg has preserved its character as a fortified town, with its streets laid out on a regular grid.This is popular with tourists who explore the Medieval structures and harbor with old style boats.
Convent of St Agnes Municipal Museum
In Jufferenstraat (No. 8) is the former St Agnietenklooster (Convent of St Agnes), founded in 1418. The double chapel (1463-80) formerly served as the Town Hall. The convent is now occupied by the Municipal Museum (Gemeentemuseum), with collections of material illustrating the history of the town, and the National Organ Museum.
The Vispoort, one of the old town gates, was built in 1397 and rebuilt in 1592. It now houses the Fisheries Museum (Visserijmuseum), which documents the story of fishing in the Zuiderzee.
The old rope-walk on the former Binnengracht is the last of its kind.
Synagogue (Jewish Historical Museum)
The synagogue (1855) is now occupied by the tourist information office.The Elburg synagogue was built in 1855. It has been used for various purposes following WWII and is currently home to the Jewish Historical Museum
Another feature of interest is the town walls, with their bastions and casemates (access at Vispoort).
West of Elburg, on the Drontermeer, are the old fish auction hall (1916) and a garden called De Vier Jaargetijden (The Four Seasons) in which a believer in natural healing carries out experiments with homeopathic remedies.
South of Elburg is the village of Doornspijk, with the ruins of the church of St Ludger, built about 1300 and several times enlarged. Ludger (742- 809) was the first Dutch preacher of the Gospel.